Providing the information First Responders need!

St. David Fire District
Elfrida Fire District
Douglas Fire Department
Douglas Fire Department
Douglas Fire Department
Protocols Master Meeting Calendar Committees Educational Announcements

Welcome to the Southeastern Arizona EMS Council

The Southeastern Arizona Emergency Medical Services Region (SAEMS) was originally established in 1973. Under new direction from the Arizona State Department of Health Services and the Bureau of Emergency Services, SAEMS focuses it’s attention upon the emergency medical services of the population in southeastern Arizona. The regional council is responsible under state EMS Direction for provider grant funding, training opportunities, data collection and protocol development. It establishes quality assurance/improvement criteria and standards for monitoring and improving the performance and quality of emergency care needs.




Dear EMS and Trauma System Stakeholders,

The Bureau of EMS & Trauma System (Bureau) with the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) is hosting the first Annual Emergency Medical Care Technician (EMCT) of the Year Award contest during National EMS Week (May 21-27, 2023). Each EMS Region will select one EMCT as the winner for their respective EMS Region. The nominee for each EMS Region will be presented with a plaque or statuette and a Letter of Congratulations during the May 18, 2023, EMS Council meeting.

The 2023 EMCT of the Year Award recognizes outstanding EMCTs across Arizona who have gone above and beyond to serve their communities. The Bureau is seeking EMCT of the Year Award nominations for EMCTs who have demonstrated a commitment to serving their community, including the following criteria:

  • Years of Service

  • Academic Advancement Achievements

  • Meritorious Service Awards by Agency/Community

  • Community Volunteer Service

  • Other Achievements or Contributions

To submit a nominee for the 2023 EMCT of the Year Award, please complete the online Nomination Form at by 5:00 PM, Sunday, April 30, 2023.

Nominations will be reviewed by each participating EMS Regional Council and the Bureau, with the goal of one (1) EMCT of the Year Award for each of the four EMS Regions.

Please contact Dr. David James Harden at if you have any questions.

Best Regards,

Dr. David James Harden, JD, BHSc, NREMT
Strategic Planning & EMS Recognition Programs Manager
Bureau of EMS and Trauma System
Arizona Department of Health Services
150 N. 18th Avenue, Suite 540, Phoenix, AZ 85007
Mobile   602-370-5428
Health and Wellness for all Arizonans